jockpop
Mar 12 2007, 01:17 PM
What's up with the "Congratulations. You've won a free Apple i Phone" announcement? I thought it had ben decided that such noise intruding banners were no longer going to be part of the advertising here. I guess Im mistaken. But let me suggest that I think that would be a good policy. Such ads can be very disruptive.
mdterp01
Mar 12 2007, 02:59 PM
Oh my god I was just gonna start a post on the Apple iPhone biatch!!! It gets on my nerves. I don't mind the ad but mute that heifer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
sportinlife
Mar 12 2007, 06:56 PM
Add another who is totally put off by the iphone ad. Totally counterproductive for my part.
FeverDog
Mar 12 2007, 09:01 PM
No talking ads EVER, please.
And besides, who's gonna believe he really won an iPhone?
Cyd at Outsports
Mar 12 2007, 11:18 PM
Your guess is as good as mine. We have it set to not run these, but they are running. I'm getting in touch with the adserver. Please hang in there. Oy.
fenwayguy
Mar 12 2007, 11:28 PM
Are we sure the iPhone audio is coming from Outsports? I heard the same today when I was was on the Rolling Stone site, listening to music on their Rhapsody (Real audio) player.
Joe in Philly
Mar 13 2007, 03:36 PM
I'm sure the ad is on many websites. But if the only window I have open is Outsports, and the ad is displayed at the top of the page, where else would the sound come from?
Joe in Philly
May 26 2008, 04:47 PM
There is an ad for the Tennis Channel for live streaming (I guess at their website) that is displaying on a number of pages on the discussion board. For the love of all that is holy, PLEASE get rid of it if you can. I can't stand hearing that sound (whatever it's supposed to be) every time I go from page to page on the board.
sooners2727
May 27 2008, 08:33 AM
I think it's the "crowd"... but then again it kinda also sounds like a washer and dryer... who the hell knows.
mdterp01
May 27 2008, 01:04 PM
I don't know but that shyt has to go. That is grating my last nerve.
George Twins fan
May 27 2008, 03:10 PM
I don't want to jinx myself but I'm not getting that problem at all.
Jim at Outsports
May 27 2008, 07:56 PM
I have not seen the ad but we are checking. This could be an ad from a service since we were not contacted directly by the Tennis Channel.
Cyd at Outsports
May 28 2008, 01:50 PM
Oh wow, that is annoying. We're working on it. Thanks for your patience! In the meantime, just put your speakers on mute. Thanks.
Penn State
May 28 2008, 06:59 PM
Make it stop, puh-leeze make it stop! I swear, every time I open a new page, there it is, making that noise! And I don't even like tennis... my ex does. I think it's stalking me...
Joe in Philly
May 29 2008, 12:36 PM
Now it's also shown up on the home page and Jock Talk blog page. Ugh. I think tennis should be banned for this.
Erstegeiger
May 29 2008, 02:08 PM
I do love me some tennis, but wow, I will not use tennis channel just because of the ad.
Best,
Drew
Jim at Outsports
May 29 2008, 03:18 PM
I still haven't seen/heard the ad, but we are trying to track down the source (it could be one of the several ad services we use).
kick
May 29 2008, 04:00 PM
Thanks for working on it- it is even worse that that damn mosquito or bug thing from a while back.
Penn State
May 29 2008, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(Jim at Outsports @ May 27 2008, 08:56 PM)

I have not seen the ad but we are checking. This could be an ad from a service since we were not contacted directly by the Tennis Channel.
How could you not see it, it's on virtually every page!
Anyway, don't know if this helps, but when you click on the ad, it loads the the url below before it redirects you to the Tennis Channel site. Took some quick clicking to copy the link, as it only shows briefly before being redirected. Looks like it's an ad through Google... don't know if that helps.
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagea...ign%3DStreamingOK, for some reason when I posted the link, it didn't display the whole thing... though it kept most of the beginning, which might be all you need. I'm going to try and post it again, but in "chunks," rather than the whole link.
http:
//pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagead/iclk?
sa=l&ai=BgVqiBUE_SMiJHIzSVKjvuOsD4eiMbbvD1M0Fk-
uRigfQ8DMQARgBIJ6Omwo4AFC1vNKTBWDJxuqKtKTYD6ABs7jb-
gOyARF3d3cub3V0c3BvcnRzLmNvbboBCjE2MHg2MDBfYXPIAQTa
ATlodHRwOi8vd3d3Lm91dHNwb3J0cy5jb20vZm9ydW1zL2luZGV4L
nBocD9zaG93dG9waWM9NDAwMzC4AhjAAgHIAs2CuQKoAwHoA-QD6AMU6AO_AfUDACEAAIgEAZAEAZgEAA&num=1&client=ca-pub-
5436333661275182&adurl=http://www.tennischannel.com/%3Futm_
source%3Dgoogle%26utm_medium%3Ddisplay%26utm_campaign%3DStreaming
mdterp01
May 29 2008, 08:15 PM
Thanks for looking into this guys but OHHHH....MY GOD....the person who came up with this ad is going into the "People who Should be Shot" thread!!
J eddie
May 29 2008, 08:26 PM
It sounds like we're being invaded by beings from another planet!
George Twins fan
May 29 2008, 08:53 PM
QUOTE(Penn State @ May 29 2008, 07:56 PM)

How could you not see it, it's on virtually every page!
Like Jim, I'm not getting it either. I'm curiosu as hell but glad at the same time! lol!
Joe in Philly
May 29 2008, 09:09 PM
I tried clicking on it and it tried opening up a pop-up window. I allowed one to open and copied the URL, which just leads to the same ad opening by itself in a separate window (I'm using Firefox). Here's the URL (I've broken it in order to prevent a really long line:
http://pagead2.googlesyndication.com/pagea...2112729468&format=160x600_as&output=html&correlator=1212112729468&channel=0366175287&url=http%3A%2F%2F
www.outsports.com%2Fforums%2Findex.php%3Fact%3Dpost%26do%3Dreply_post%26f%3D26%26t%3D3
7584&ad_type=text_image&frm=1&ga_vid=743440741746706700.1212112729&ga_sid=1212112729&
ga_hid=382094526&flash=9.0.28&u_h=768&u_w=1024&u_ah=734&u_aw=1024&u_cd=32&u_tz=-240&u_his=
5&u_java=true&u_nplug=24&u_nmime=97
It's a Flash ad. I just found something in the Firefox help pages -- an add-on called Flashblock. It says it "prevents Flash content from loading, replacing it with a placeholder. Clicking the placeholder allows the Flash to load." Firefox users can get it
here. I'm going to try it and see if it works...
It works! I'M FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
kick
May 29 2008, 10:05 PM
Well my summation of the situation every time I hear this is pretty much like this, in all its variations... LOST fans will chuckle
SON OF A...
Jim at Outsports
May 30 2008, 01:54 PM
I have clicked all over the board and still can't see it (and I'm now curious!). My guess is that it was part of a Google rotation and those ads come and go quickly. Cyd is still trying to track it down.
Penn State
May 31 2008, 08:32 AM
QUOTE(Jim at Outsports @ May 30 2008, 02:54 PM)

I have clicked all over the board and still can't see it (and I'm now curious!). My guess is that it was part of a Google rotation and those ads come and go quickly. Cyd is still trying to track it down.
Well, I'm crossing my fingers, but I didn't see it at all last night, or this morning. So either I'm out of the rotation, or perhaps this "infestation" is gone!
BigBlueCowboy
Jun 2 2009, 09:56 PM
Every time I click on a new topic, thread, or what not I am told that I've "now been selected to win a new Nintendo Wii!" This belongs in the "People who should be shot" thread. And it's not even a sexy guy's voice! AAARRRGGHH!!
What's a Nintendo Wii?
Joe in Philly
Jun 2 2009, 10:44 PM
QUOTE(Joe in Philly @ May 29 2008, 10:09 PM)

It's a Flash ad. I just found something in the Firefox help pages -- an add-on called Flashblock. It says it "prevents Flash content from loading, replacing it with a placeholder. Clicking the placeholder allows the Flash to load." Firefox users can get it
here. I'm going to try it and see if it works...
It works! I'M FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I've just passed the one-year anniversary of my freedom from the sound ads. My recommendation: use something similar to Flashblock if there's a program available for other web browsers; if there isn't, switch to Firefox and use Flashblock.
QUOTE(BigBlueCowboy @ Jun 2 2009, 10:56 PM)

Every time I click on a new topic, thread, or what not I am told that I've "now been selected to win a new Nintendo Wii!"
Chances are that's being generated by adware that's resident on your PC. You may wish to download and run a free anti-malware program such as Malwarebytes or others, or better yet a free anti-virus/anti-malware product like AVG Free or similar.Has anyone else been hearing these "audio popups" while visiting Outsports?
BigBlueCowboy
Jun 3 2009, 12:03 PM
Thanks, m1, but I'm a MacGuy!
Another member who's a PC user has been getting them too, so we'll investigate further. Thanks for the heads-up.
It appears that one of Outsports' online advertising services is inserting this audio ad. Next time you hear it, please make note of the advertisier (other than Nintendo Wii) and either post here or send a note to
mail@Outsports.comThanks for helping us get to the bottom of this.
hockeyTom
Jun 7 2009, 04:33 PM
Incredibly annoying sound ad......
Texas Daytripper
Jun 7 2009, 04:57 PM
I clicked on this page and the sound was with it. The fine print at the bottom of the ad says _LM Networks 2008.
Excellent, thank you aaron71. We'll see what we can do to track it down and kill it.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.