bobby78751
Feb 18 2005, 10:54 AM
I just had the below pop-up ad on my screen and how obviously-faked the photo is. Somebody needs to be fired for creating such a sloppy ad!
Ad Link
bear321
Feb 18 2005, 11:04 AM
Bobby, we have an endless pool here on campus over in our football training facility. It looks just like this one and I have seen a player using it before. Yep, it is a real product.
bobby78751
Feb 18 2005, 11:12 AM
Can the guy swimming in the pool be swimming at such a quick pace while being 5 feet from either end of the pool?
bear321
Feb 18 2005, 11:22 AM
Yes. I would have believed this was a fake ad too if I had not seen one actually being used. Go ahead and get the free DVD or try and find some footage of one in use on the web. I bet you can find one.
QUOTE
bobby78751:
Can the guy swimming in the pool be swimming at such a quick pace while being 5 feet from either end of the pool?
millerbeach
Feb 21 2005, 02:27 AM
Bobby, this is the wonderful world of advertising. As long as the advertiser does not make claims about the product in the ad that cannot be done, there is no harm. Most of the pictures of food in advertisements is completely unedible. It is doctored up for the photo shoots then dumped in the garbage. It all goes back to the old saying...things are not often as they appear.
bear321
Feb 21 2005, 06:30 AM
There is an ad right here on this board that really creeps me out for some reason. It is the Vonage phone ad. I guess it's the floating people going back and forth in the ad banner. eek!
Ms. de Blazer
Feb 21 2005, 10:02 AM
If you go to
www.panicware.com you can download their free pop-up stopper. They will try to get you to purchase their "deluxe" versions. Don't bother. I've used the freebie for several years and it works fine.
hockeyTom
Feb 21 2005, 11:59 AM
Plus anybody that has Windows XP, should have already received by now, a huge service update, which came out about 3 months ago. Since having this installed, I have had zero popups and love every minute of not having them too.
twin58
Feb 24 2005, 03:03 PM
Adware maker joins federal privacy board QUOTE
The Department of Homeland Security has named Claria, an adware maker that online publishers once dubbed a \"parasite,\" to a federal privacy advisory board.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.