Texas Daytripper
Feb 20 2009, 09:20 PM
I've just recieved a private message with a link to some viagra website.
I don't appreciate it one bit.
I hope this site is not overrun by no-good-doers.
Anyone else receive that message?
blueraider
Feb 20 2009, 09:28 PM
got it, didn't bother looking at it.
SCTrojan
Feb 20 2009, 09:30 PM
ditto.
BigBlueCowboy
Feb 20 2009, 09:33 PM
Got it, too. From mirfirker. Message is entitled "Hello."
MotorPsycho
Feb 20 2009, 09:58 PM
Same here...just deleted it
Joe in Philly
Feb 20 2009, 09:58 PM
I haven't gotten it. I wonder if it's possible for these spambots to now send PMs as well as posting to a board, or is an actual living, breathing humanoid manually picking out names and sending them?
I assume one of you has notified a moderator, who can take action on the offending screen name?
kick
Feb 20 2009, 10:02 PM
I received it as well, but did not notify a moderator- i did not go to the link either though.
J eddie
Feb 20 2009, 10:36 PM
QUOTE(kick @ Feb 20 2009, 10:02 PM)

I received it as well, but did not notify a moderator- i did not go to the link either though.
I got it too. "Mirfirker" would be a good name for an elf.
Crew Chief
Feb 20 2009, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(Joe in Philly @ Feb 20 2009, 08:58 PM)

I haven't gotten it. I wonder if it's possible for these spambots to now send PMs as well as posting to a board, or is an actual living, breathing humanoid manually picking out names and sending them?
I assume one of you has notified a moderator, who can take action on the offending screen name?
Yes, I notified m1 right after I got it. m1 replied that mirfirker has been disabled.
The member has been disabled. Please notify the mods if it happens again.
Outsports moderator
millerbeach
Feb 21 2009, 02:30 AM
I got it too. It was an ad for viagra...HA! If they only knew how untargeted their spamming efforts are! At first, I just thought it was Crew Chief trying to be clever...fat chance!
.DJ.
Feb 21 2009, 03:19 AM
Got it too. Jeez, I feel bad now. I don't need Viagra, do I?
Mirfirkr sounds like the full on MOFO except muffled, teehee.
Maddog
Feb 21 2009, 03:44 AM
Got the message. Was insulted. Bought the Viagra. Reported the culprit. Used the Viagra. Still insulted. Posted this message.
.DJ.
Feb 21 2009, 04:52 AM
QUOTE(Maddog @ Feb 21 2009, 12:44 AM)

Got the message. Was insulted. Bought the Viagra. Reported the culprit. Used the Viagra. Still insulted. Posted this message.
canmark
Feb 21 2009, 09:11 AM
QUOTE(Joe in Philly @ Feb 20 2009, 09:58 PM)

I haven't gotten it. I wonder if it's possible for these spambots to now send PMs as well as posting to a board, or is an actual living, breathing humanoid manually picking out names and sending them?
I assume one of you has notified a moderator, who can take action on the offending screen name?
Clearly, Mirfirkr knew that the virile JiP had no need for viagra.
MiamiSpartan
Feb 21 2009, 11:30 AM
Just remember:
If anyone gets an erection lasting longer than 4 hours......
....send me the pix, please!
SCTrojan
Feb 21 2009, 11:32 AM
.DJ.
Feb 22 2009, 02:38 AM
That's going to be one purple head of cabbage.
fantomas
Feb 22 2009, 01:56 PM
I just received it. Here's the PM:
QUOTE
Message Forwarded From mirfirker
See this. (Link disabled)
I didn't click on the link, but Googled "iefa.ru," and saw that this person had been spamming other similar boards.
BigBlueCowboy
Mar 23 2009, 12:46 PM
I just received a private message from mignulikz. There is a link entitled, "It's wonderful," in the message. Did not go to the link for fear of spam. Anyone else receive a similar message?
Maddog
Mar 23 2009, 12:53 PM
Yup. Just deleted it.
BigBlueCowboy
Mar 23 2009, 12:57 PM
The SOB is on right now!
.DJ.
Mar 23 2009, 05:08 PM
Same.
.DJ.
Mar 23 2009, 05:56 PM
Oh, this is the same guy from a few weeks ago. The Viagra dude.
HoustonGator
Mar 23 2009, 06:15 PM
I got it too. From Mirfirkr. I was really excited that I'd received my very first private message. And it was spam. Oh, well.
fantomas
Mar 23 2009, 06:21 PM
Lo mismo recibi. I forwarded it to m1 and deleted it.
mdterp01
Mar 23 2009, 10:19 PM
I got it from two different posters who have apparently been banned. The first one I opened and it told me to type in some code. I deleted both of them things. I feared it may have been a virus.
.DJ.
Mar 24 2009, 07:25 PM
QUOTE(HoustonGator @ Mar 23 2009, 04:15 PM)

I got it too. From Mirfirkr. I was really excited that I'd received my very first private message. And it was spam. Oh, well.
I keep thinking that's short for "mother f**ker."
Jim at Outsports
Mar 24 2009, 08:53 PM
From our crack admin Dee:
Ok, I've banned those members and added their addresses to the board's filters, so it won't accept new registrations from those particular IPs.
Thom
Mar 25 2009, 09:25 PM
Forgive me if it has already been mentioned but I got the one everyone else did plus on from mignulikz. Same thing.
BigBlueCowboy
Apr 19 2009, 04:17 PM
A spammer is striking again! Goes by the name of Angelikzusa and the personal message is entitled "Just for Fun."
J eddie
Apr 19 2009, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(BigBlueCowboy @ Apr 19 2009, 05:17 PM)

A spammer is striking again! Goes by the name of Angelikzusa and the personal message is entitled "Just for Fun."
Yes, our so-called "newest member"
.DJ.
Apr 19 2009, 07:14 PM
Same here.
Jim at Outsports
Apr 19 2009, 07:27 PM
I suspended this person's acct. but let me know if any more spam is getting through.
Thanks!
Jim
GOYANKSGONJ
Apr 21 2009, 10:09 PM
Well, Jim, obviously, the person figured out how to un-suspend his account, because, I got a message from the same individual.
Member 'angelikzusa' was suspended on Sunday evening, so chances are the message was sent earlier. If the message is still in your Private Mail, could you check the date and time?
GOYANKSGONJ
Apr 21 2009, 11:37 PM
4/19/09, 2:20 PM (PT).
I figured it had just been sent, until checking further, because, I literally just received an E-mail notification about it tonight.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.