Oregon State coach is only out male Division 1 head coach

Outsports readers have spoken, and Oregon State head softball coach Kirk Walker is the first inductee of the Outsports Coaches Hall of Fame. The award is part of Logo's NewNowNext Awards, airing now on Logo and available on the NewNowNext Web site.

Voting took place throughout May, with Walker getting 38% of the vote. The other three nominees were Harvard softball coach Jenny Allard, Minnesota-Duluth women’s hockey coach Shannon Miller and former Missouri lax coach Kyle Hawkins.

Walker came out on Outsports last June, and it was almost a year to the day later that he was named the winner of the honor.

Watch Walker’s acceptance speech here:

Don't forget to share: