This weekend Team DC, the umbrella organization for LGBT sports organizations in Washington DC, will host its Night of Champions, benefitting the group’s college scholarship program.

In addition to other awards, they will be recognizing seven student-athletes who have received scholarships this school year. Team DC uses the scholarships to reward out athletes, but also to further discussion in schools about issues facing said athletes.

“Since the Scholarship Program was created in 2008, our goal has been not only to support openly out student-athletes, but to also educate and foster discussions with coaches and other school administrators about the challenges facing LGBT athletes,” said Dan Schaefer, Chair of the Team DC College Scholarship Committee, in a statement.

The seven student-athletes being honored with scholarships are (with high school and college listed):

  • Jauan Durbin, School Without Walls High School, Washington, DC / Morehouse College (GA)
  • Adonis Garcia, Cardozo High School, Washington, DC / University of the District of Columbia (DC)
  • Joshua Hicks, Chesapeake High School, Pasadena, MD / University of Maryland at College Park (MD)
  • Jasmine Johnson, Ballou High School, Washington, DC / Delaware State University (DE)
  • Stephen Lambert, Northern Virginia Community College / George Mason University (VA)
  • Daja Latten, Cardozo High School, Washington, DC / Virginia State University (VA)

Elaina Perry, Eleanor Roosevelt High School, Greenbelt, MD / American University (DC)

A number of other LGBT-sports-community leaders will also be recognized, including members of DC Front Runners and DC Pride Volleyball. You can find the full rundown here.

The event is this Saturday, April 15, at the Washington Hilton Hotel. Tickets are still available for $100.