“The people who helped make change” — they were the ones who Outsports wanted to honor when this website first announced its end-of-year awards back in 2014.

As we prepare for the 10th anniversary edition, we wanted to remind our readers of the great and good from the past decade who have taken pride of place in our Hall of Fame.

Six of the categories have been ever present since that initial 2014 online ceremony.

Male Athlete and Female Athlete celebrate those who excelled in their chosen disciplines; while Male Hero and Female Hero measure success beyond competition, with courage and activism high on the criteria list.

The top accolade on offer is Person of the Year, which goes to the figure who has exemplified the year in LGBTQ sports.

At the other end of the scale is Asshole of the Year, described as “the person who most demonstrated a bygone era in sports” where LGBTQ people are not made to feel welcome.

That “original six” has since been supplemented by two more categories in recognition of both Transgender and Non-Binary people in sport. Determining factors here may include advocacy, achievement, or visibility.

From Monday, the editorial team will be making its presentations and reflecting on the past 12 months.

But before that, here is the Outsports Awards Hall of Fame in full.

Follow the links to read about the winners and see who else was in category contention that year…

Person of the Year

2022: Brittney Griner

2021: Carl Nassib

2020: Katie Sowers

2019: Megan Rapinoe

2018: Adam Rippon

2017: Ryan O’Callaghan

2016: Chris Mosier

2015: Dalton Maldonado

2014: Michael Sam

Megan Rapinoe was our Person of the Year in 2019 after adding the Golden Ball and the Golden Boot trophies to her FIFA Women’s World Cup triumph with the USWNT.

Male Athlete

2022: Guillaume Cizeron

2021: Tom Daley, Sir Lee Pearson

2020: Rob Kearney

2019: 8 out gay and bi college football players

2018: Eric Radford

2017: Robbie Manson

2016: Orlando Cruz

2015: Eric Radford

2014: Robbie Rogers

Strongman Rob Kearney was our Male Athlete of 2020, having won Male Hero the year before.

Female Athlete

2022: Ireen Wüst

2021: Jonquel Jones

2020: Yulimar Rojas

2019: CeCé Telfer

2018: Sue Bird

2017: Seimone Augustus

2016: Nicola Adams

2015: Abby Wambach and Megan Rapinoe

2014: Brittney Griner

Brittney Griner (left, with Diana Taurasi) won the WNBA Finals with the Phoenix Mercury in 2014 and our Female Athlete category — eight years later, she was our Person of the Year.

Male Hero

2022: Byron Perkins

2021: Luke Prokop

2020: Kirk Walker

2019: Rob Kearney

2018: Collin Martin

2017: Mack Beggs, Harrison Browne

2016: Amini Fonua

2015: Billy Bean

2014: Conner Mertens

Byron Perkins – the first gay football player to ever come out publicly at an HBCU – is our reigning Male Hero.

Female Hero

2022: Callan Chythlook-Sifsof

2021: Raven Saunders

2020: Natasha Cloud

2019: Caster Semenya and JayCee Cooper

2018: Sam Rapoport

2017: Katie Sowers

2016: Elena Delle Donne

2015: Layshia Clarendon

2014: Karen Morrison

Raven Saunders took silver in shot put at the Tokyo Olympics and for her advocacy around LGBTQ mental health, she claimed our Female Hero title in 2021 too.


2022: Lia Thomas, Iszac Henig

2021: Alana McLaughlin

2020: Lindsay Hecox

Long distance runner Lindsay Hecox was the winner of the inaugural Outsports Transgender award, recognizing her athlete advocacy.


2022: Jake Caswell

2021: Quinn

2020: Quinn

2019: SonicFox

Having won the Non-Binary category in 2020, Quinn’s gold-medal success with Canada at the Tokyo Olympics ensured they repeated the victory the following year.


2022: FIFA

2021: People who intentionally misgender trans athletes

2020: World Rugby

2019: IAAF aka World Athletics

2018: Soccer fans who chant gay slurs

2017: Fans who chant gay slurs

2016: Nico Hines and the Daily Beast

2015: Lance Berkman and Rajon Rondo

2014: Tony Dungy


2020 (special award): San Diego Loyal forfeit match over gay slur

And if you’re still looking for more after that rundown, here are a few more of our lists from recent years about noteworthy LGBTQ people in sports…

The Outsports Power 100 (June 2023)

The Outsports Queer Wrestling Index 200 – Top 20 (December 2023)

The Outsports Triumph Awards (March 2021)

A Decade of Heroes: ‘The Outsports 20’ of the 2010s – plus 5 more (January 2020)

Check back from Monday and all next week as Outsports celebrates the class of 2023…