clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Phoenix Hellraisers win Pride Bowl III

The Phoenix Hellraisers repeated as the top-tiered A-Division champions of Pride Bowl III, held June 25-26 in Chicago. The Hellraisers defeated the Chicago United, 24-13, in the championship game. Phoenix quarterback Kenny White was named the Offensive MVP in the title tilt, while Jared Garduno was named Defensive MVP. In the B-Division finals, the Denver Meateaters defeated Denver Mountaintops, 27-20.

The event attracted 16 teams, with three from Chicago. Three new cities -- Cleveland, Jacksonville and Seattle -- all made their tournament debuts at Pride Bowl.

“I thought the tournament went great,” said tournament director Brian Kupersmit. “The weather was perfect and most of the games were very competitive.

“Pride Bowl III definitely was a success.”

The next major gay flag football tournament is the national championship, Gay Bowl X, in Phoenix.

You can read more from Ross Forman on his blog.